International Federation of Digital Seismograph Networks

Thread: AW: revised terms of reference: vote by June 6, 2024

Started: 2024-05-17 13:47:40
Last activity: 2024-05-17 13:47:40
Horn Nikolaus
2024-05-17 13:47:40
Dear FDSN-Members,

GeoSphere Austria votes YES

Greetings from Vienna,

Von: message-center-bounce<at> <message-center-bounce<at>>
Gesendet: Donnerstag, 16. Mai 2024 22:34
An: FDSN Message Center <message-center<at>>
Betreff: [fdsn-representatives][fdsn-execom] revised terms of reference: vote by June 6, 2024


Dear FDSN Steering Committee,

Thanks to Tim Ahern for pointing out that the previously-proposed revision did not require that the executive committee be elected from within member organizations, and should. The FDSN Executive Committee had an ad hoc meeting on May 3 and agreed that this was an oversight, and that instead it is sufficient to remove the spurious requirement that executive committee members be steering committee members.

Below is the new proposed wording, for your approval:

"The FDSN executive committee consists of is headed by a chair, who will be assisted by a secretary, a treasurer and the chairs of all FDSN working groups. The chair of the executive committee will preside over the meetings of the steering committee. Members of the executive committee shall be elected by from within the steering committee or the member organizations. Elections take place during steering committee meetings."

Please vote by responding to fdsn-representatives<at><fdsn-representatives<at>> with YES or NO, to indicate that your organization approves of the revised wording. Voting will close June 6, 2024, three weeks from now.


Nick Ackerley
(he, him, il, lui)

Seismologist, Canadian Hazard Information Service
Secretary, International Federation of Digital Seismograph Networks